Panasonic DMC-GF2 Camera

A friend of mine recently bought a new camera! She was pretty excited about it! Yesterday when we went out she brought it with her so I had a chance to play around with it. While I’m at it, I took some pretty cool photos too! She also told me that if she had more budget, she would have purchased a white GF3 instead. Anyhow, If any of you are interested in this camera, I’ve shared an amazon link along with some specs and personal opinions! Enjoy!

The new Panasonic GF2 employs the stalwart (i.e. ageing) 12Mp Four Thirds sensor and the 460k dot 3″ 3:2 aspect ratio LCD. The hot shoe and associated EVF port is still present and correct, alongside the little pop-up flash, and thankfully Panasonic hasn’t been tempted to discard the clickable thumbwheel that handles the primary exposure controls. Nevertheless, the pared-down body design inevitably means the camera is powered by a new, slightly smaller battery. I certainly hope my friend doesn’t come across any issues with the battery.

Some of you may ask, “what’s the differences between this one and its previous version – GF1?” Well, the GF2’s new upgrades features a 1080 HD video capability in the AVCHD format, touch control and a new user interface, and the ability to make use of Panasonic’s new 3D lens, a 12mm f/12 wide angle. A Venus Engine FHD processing system takes over for the Venus Engine HD of the earlier camera and adds a stop on the high end of the ISO sensitivity range, now ranging from 100 to 6400. Scene modes and color presets increase by one (to 17 and 8, respectively).

So after snapping some photos with my friend’s new GF2, I was quite pleased with its the quality of the photos as well as its intuitive interface. I was able to adjust the ISO base on the surrounding environment and I had absolutely no problem navigating through the menu within the camera. Also, it wasn’t difficult at all to adjust the shutter speed so that I can take photos that focused on a object. That was quite interesting because I have always wanted to take photos with fuzzy background effects.

So what are you waiting for? Hurry up and get one for Christmas! Happy Holidays!

The link I promised

http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-Four-Thirds-Interchangeable-3-0-Inch-Touch-Screen/dp/B004A8ZQJS/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1323150221&sr=8-2

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment